Important New Workplace Laws from Attorneys at Law Corey, Luzaich, de Ghetaldi & Riddle LLP

New Requirements for Sexual Harassment Training – Applies to Employer with 5 or More Workers

Before leaving office, Governor Brown signed Senate Bill 1343, which significantly expands the requirements for sexual harassment training for employees. Under this new law, businesses with five or more employees, including temporary or seasonal employees, must provide at least two hours of sexual harassment training to all supervisory employees and at least one hour of sexualharassment training to all nonsupervisory employees by January 1, 2020, and once every two years thereafter. Employees are currently required to undergo training within six months of starting their jobs. Seasonal or temporary employees (or any employees that will be employed less than six months) need to undergo training within 30 days or 100 hours, whichever comes first. The training sessions must be compliant with Assembly Bill 1825 and led by a qualified trainer. Our firm is experienced in teaching these seminars. Please contact Amanda Riddle (alr@coreylaw.com) to schedule your seminar.
Important New Workplace Laws from Attorneys at Law Corey, Luzaich, de Ghetaldi & Riddle LLP
Minimum Wage
Effective January 1, 2019, the California minimum wage is $11/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees and $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees. Note that several local cities have instituted a minimum wage for private businesses that is higher than the California minimum wage:
Belmont:        $13.50/hour
Cupertino:      $15/hour
Los Altos:       $15/hour
Mountain View: $15.65/hour
Palo Alto:        $15/hour
Redwood City:   $13.50/hour
San Francisco:  $15/hour
San Jose:       $15/hour
San Mateo:     $15/hour
Santa Clara:   $15/hour
Important New Workplace Laws from Attorneys at Law Corey, Luzaich, de Ghetaldi & Riddle LLP
Human Trafficking Awareness Training Required of Certain Employees
Senate Bill 970 requires that employees who are likely to interact or come into contact with victims of human trafficking (specifically hotel and motel workers, as well as those who have recurring interactions with the public such as receptionists, housekeepers, and drivers) go through 20 minutes of classroom or other interactive training regarding human trafficking awareness. This training must occur within six months of hire and no later than January 1, 2020.
Important New Workplace Laws from Attorneys at Law Corey, Luzaich, de Ghetaldi & Riddle LLP
Corporate Boards Are Required To Include Women
Senate Bill 826 requires that, by the end of 2019, all California publicly held companies have a minimum of one female on their board of directors; and by the end of 2021 a minimum of two female directors if they have five total directors, or three female directors if there are six or more total directors. Failure to comply will result in significant fines.

You may also like...